What changed

Codex Plan or price added

Before

One ChatGPT Pro plan, at $200 a month.

After

Two Pro tiers: Pro 5x at $100 a month (5x Plus Codex usage) and Pro 20x at $200 a month (20x Plus).

Announced
Recorded by LimitSheet
Entry published
Affects
Codex
Verified
, verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check

Baseline

The ChatGPT plan lineup just before the launch, as reported by VentureBeat. No existing plan changed price; a tier was added. OpenAI's pricing page, in the saved copy cited here, defined the Pro tiers relative to Plus (5x and 20x); the per-model message figures it published were estimates, not fixed message limits. OpenAI's Pro tiers article now lists the $100 and $200 Pro plans as Pro 100 and Pro 200, the names the plan tables on this site use.

A change can be a cut against one level and a rise against another, so every entry names the baseline it compares with.

Sources and their exact words

Every number and date in this entry comes from one of these quotes.

Audit trail 3 sources. Reported, Official: VentureBeat, OpenAI, OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI). Accessed to . Archived copies linked.

Sources

  1. VentureBeat, OpenAI introduces ChatGPT Pro $100 tier with 5X usage limits for Codex compared to PlusOpenAI introduces ChatGPT Pro $100 tier with 5X usage limits for Codex compared to Plusa $100 ChatGPT Pro plan — which joins its free, Go ($8 monthly), Plus ($20 monthly) and existing Pro ($200 monthly) plansChatGPT Pro 5x ($100/month)ChatGPT Pro 20x ($200/month)The limits shown for Pro 5x include a temporary 2x usage boost that ends May 31, 2026.Accessed Archived copy Reported: Reported by the vendor elsewhere (blog, staff post) or by reputable press.
  2. OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn (copy of 29 Sep 2026, before the Pro plans were restructured)5x or 20x more Codex usage than Plus*These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times.Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.
  3. OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiersPro 100 | $100 | Not includedPro 200 | $200 | Not includedAccessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.

Pages this change affects

Where things stand now

The current recorded prices and limits for the affected tool, each with its own source. They may have changed again since this entry.

Codex: current prices
PlanPrice, USDTerms
Billed monthly (USD)Plan typeVerified
ChatGPT Pro 100 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 100$100 per month1tax not statedIndividual, verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check
ChatGPT Pro 200 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 200$200 per month2tax not statedNote on ChatGPT Pro 200, Billed monthly (USD)Individual, verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check

Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.

Audit trail 2 sources and 1 note. All Official: OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI). Accessed . Archived copies linked.

Sources for “Codex: current prices”

  1. OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiersPro 100 | $100 | Not includedAccessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
  2. OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiersPro 200 | $200 | Not includedAccessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value

Notes on “Codex: current prices”

  • ChatGPT Pro 200, Billed monthly (USD): OpenAI: “New subscriptions that aren’t eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance than previously offered with Pro 200 to reflect our increasingly efficient models. The monthly price remains $200.” Back to the value
Codex: current recorded limits
Plan5-hour windowWeekly capOverageVerified
ChatGPT Pro 100 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 100No five-hour limit currently1Note on ChatGPT Pro 100, 5-hour windowOfficial: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.Weekly limits may also apply (no published number)2Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.Additional ChatGPT credits can be purchased3Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center., verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check
ChatGPT Pro 200 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 200No five-hour limit currently1Note on ChatGPT Pro 200, 5-hour windowOfficial: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.Weekly limits may also apply (no published number)2Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.Additional ChatGPT credits can be purchased3Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center., verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check

Audit trail 3 sources and 2 notes. All Official: OpenAI. Accessed . Archived copies linked.

Sources for “Codex: current recorded limits”

  1. OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT LearnPro plans currently have no five-hour limit.Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
  2. OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT LearnLocal messages and cloud chats share your plan’s usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
  3. OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT LearnChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value

Notes on “Codex: current recorded limits”

  • ChatGPT Pro 100, 5-hour window: OpenAI: “Weekly limits may also apply.” Back to the value
  • ChatGPT Pro 200, 5-hour window: OpenAI: “Weekly limits may also apply.” Back to the value

This entry as data

Download this entry as JSON All data (CC BY 4.0)

curl -s https://limitsheet.com/data/v1/changes/2026-04-09-chatgpt-pro-5x-tier.json

Cite this

LimitSheet, "OpenAI adds a $100 ChatGPT Pro tier with 5x Plus Codex usage", verified Oct 2, 2026, https://limitsheet.com/changes/2026-04-09-chatgpt-pro-5x-tier/, CC BY 4.0

Data: CC BY 4.0. Please link to this page, where the number and its source live. To cite one table row, use the row's “Cite” link.