Claude Code vs Codex: plans, prices and usage limits
Claude Pro and Max against the ChatGPT Plus and Pro plans that include Codex, paired from cheapest to most expensive. Every value links to its source.
Last verified 17 days old, May be outdated. Flagged as outdated after 9 days. AI-assisted check Changes to these plans · How we verify
Before you buy
Prices and limits change often. Each figure shows the date it was last checked against its cited source. Confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Nothing here is financial, legal or tax advice.
At a glance
Paired from cheapest to most expensive
Same listed price, billed monthly
Same listed price, billed monthly
Same listed price, billed monthly
Plans are paired from cheapest to most expensive by the listed monthly price. A pair does not mean the same usage: each vendor meters usage in its own way. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.
Claude Pro vs ChatGPT Plus
Price and limits, each with its source
| What | Claude Pro | ChatGPT Plus | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Billed monthly (USD) Cite this row: Billed monthly (USD) | $20 per month1excl. taxNote on Billed monthly (USD), Claude Pro | $20 per month2tax not stated | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Billed annually (USD per month) Cite this row: Billed annually (USD per month) | $17 per month, billed annually3excl. taxNote on Billed annually (USD per month), Claude Pro | Not tracked | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Usage vs base plan Cite this row: Usage vs base plan | 5x Free per 5-hour session (at least)4 | Not tracked | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| 5-hour window Cite this row: 5-hour window | Session limit resets every five hours (no published message count)5 | 15-150 local messages (GPT-6 Sol)6Note on 5-hour window, ChatGPT Plus | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Weekly cap Cite this row: Weekly cap | Weekly usage limit across all models (no published number)7 | Weekly limits may also apply (no published number)8 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Reset rule Cite this row: Reset rule | Weekly limit resets at a fixed day and time assigned to the account9 | Not tracked | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Overage Cite this row: Overage | Usage credits at standard API rates (opt-in)10 | Additional ChatGPT credits can be purchased11 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Included models Cite this row: Included models | Not tracked | GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna as named on the Plus card; the usage table also gives Plus estimates for GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6 Sol12Note on Included models, ChatGPT Plus | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.
Audit trail 12 sources and 4 notes. All Official: Anthropic, OpenAI, Claude Help Center (Anthropic). Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Claude Pro vs ChatGPT Plus: price and limits”
- Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
Per month with annual subscription discount ($200 billed up front). $20 if billed monthly.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Plus Power a few focused coding sessions each week. $20/month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
$17 Per month with annual subscription discount ($200 billed up front).
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
Pro gives you at least 5x more usage per 5-hour session than Free.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Pro plan?
Your session-based usage limit will reset every five hours.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
GPT-6 Sol | 15-150 | 15-150
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Pro plan?
Pro plans also have a weekly usage limit that applies across all models.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Local messages and cloud chats share your plan’s usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Pro plan?
Weekly limits reset at a fixed time each week that is assigned to your account. Your reset day and time stay the same regardless of when you start using Claude or when your subscription begins, and you receive your full weekly allowance each cycle.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
When you reach a limit, you can wait for it to reset, move to a higher plan, or, on paid plans, turn on usage credits to keep working at standard API rates.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna Flexibly extend usage with ChatGPT credits
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Claude Pro vs ChatGPT Plus: price and limits”
- Billed monthly (USD), Claude Pro: Tax: the same page says “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” Back to the value
- Billed annually (USD per month), Claude Pro: Tax: the same page says “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” Back to the value
- 5-hour window, ChatGPT Plus: Model: GPT-6 Sol. OpenAI: “These estimates are not fixed message limits”. Back to the value
- Included models, ChatGPT Plus: OpenAI Help Center: “Plus and Business Standard seats include limited Astra usage, with optional credits for additional usage afterward.” OpenAI also says “GPT-6.1 Sol is rolling out for eligible paid plans.” The pricing page also says “GPT-5.5 retires from ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work, and Codex on all plans on October 14, 2026.” Back to the value
Claude Max 5x vs ChatGPT Pro 100
Price and limits, each with its source
| What | Claude Max 5x | ChatGPT Pro 100 | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Billed monthly (USD) Cite this row: Billed monthly (USD) | $100 per month1tax not statedNote on Billed monthly (USD), Claude Max 5x | $100 per month2tax not stated | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Usage vs base plan Cite this row: Usage vs base plan | 5x Pro per session3 | Not tracked | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| 5-hour window Cite this row: 5-hour window | Session limit resets every five hours (no published message count)4 | No five-hour limit currently5Note on 5-hour window, ChatGPT Pro 100 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Weekly cap Cite this row: Weekly cap | Weekly usage limit across all models (no published number)6 | Weekly limits may also apply (no published number)7 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Reset rule Cite this row: Reset rule | Weekly limit resets at a fixed day and time assigned to the account8 | Not tracked | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Overage Cite this row: Overage | Usage credits at standard API rates (opt-in)9 | Additional ChatGPT credits can be purchased10 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.
Audit trail 10 sources and 2 notes. All Official: Claude Help Center (Anthropic), OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), OpenAI, Anthropic. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Claude Max 5x vs ChatGPT Pro 100: price and limits”
- Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max 5x: $100 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Pro 100 | $100 | Not included
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max 5x includes five times the Pro plan's per-session usage allowance.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Your session-based usage limit will reset every five hours.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max plans also have a weekly usage limit that applies across all models.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Local messages and cloud chats share your plan’s usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
The weekly limit resets at a fixed time each week that is assigned to your account.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
When you reach a limit, you can wait for it to reset, move to a higher plan, or, on paid plans, turn on usage credits to keep working at standard API rates.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Claude Max 5x vs ChatGPT Pro 100: price and limits”
- Billed monthly (USD), Claude Max 5x: Web price. The article adds: “These prices are for web subscriptions only. Mobile pricing may vary depending on your app platform.” It does not state the tax treatment. Back to the value
- 5-hour window, ChatGPT Pro 100: OpenAI: “Weekly limits may also apply.” Back to the value
Claude Max 20x vs ChatGPT Pro 200
Price and limits, each with its source
| What | Claude Max 20x | ChatGPT Pro 200 | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Billed monthly (USD) Cite this row: Billed monthly (USD) | $200 per month1tax not statedNote on Billed monthly (USD), Claude Max 20x | $200 per month2tax not statedNote on Billed monthly (USD), ChatGPT Pro 200 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Usage vs base plan Cite this row: Usage vs base plan | 20x Pro per session3 | Not tracked | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| 5-hour window Cite this row: 5-hour window | Session limit resets every five hours (no published message count)4 | No five-hour limit currently5Note on 5-hour window, ChatGPT Pro 200 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Weekly cap Cite this row: Weekly cap | Weekly usage limit across all models (no published number)6 | Weekly limits may also apply (no published number)7 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Reset rule Cite this row: Reset rule | Weekly limit resets at a fixed day and time assigned to the account8 | Not tracked | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Overage Cite this row: Overage | Usage credits at standard API rates (opt-in)9 | Additional ChatGPT credits can be purchased10 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.
Audit trail 10 sources and 3 notes. All Official: Claude Help Center (Anthropic), OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), OpenAI, Anthropic. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Claude Max 20x vs ChatGPT Pro 200: price and limits”
- Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max 20x: $200 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Pro 200 | $200 | Not included
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max 20x includes 20 times the Pro plan's per-session usage allowance.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Your session-based usage limit will reset every five hours.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max plans also have a weekly usage limit that applies across all models.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Local messages and cloud chats share your plan’s usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
The weekly limit resets at a fixed time each week that is assigned to your account.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
When you reach a limit, you can wait for it to reset, move to a higher plan, or, on paid plans, turn on usage credits to keep working at standard API rates.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Claude Max 20x vs ChatGPT Pro 200: price and limits”
- Billed monthly (USD), Claude Max 20x: Web price. The article adds: “These prices are for web subscriptions only. Mobile pricing may vary depending on your app platform.” It does not state the tax treatment. Back to the value
- Billed monthly (USD), ChatGPT Pro 200: OpenAI: “New subscriptions that aren’t eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance than previously offered with Pro 200 to reflect our increasingly efficient models. The monthly price remains $200.” Back to the value
- 5-hour window, ChatGPT Pro 200: OpenAI: “Weekly limits may also apply.” Back to the value
How usage is metered
- Claude: 5-hour session window + weekly limit (multipliers vs Pro). Claude usage limits by plan
- Codex: 5-hour message estimates per model on Plus and Business (none on Pro) + possible weekly limits; credits beyond the allowance. Codex usage limits by plan
Reading these tables
- USD prices are the listed prices. Where the source states the tax treatment, it is shown under the price; otherwise the cell says “tax not stated”.
- “Not tracked” means we hold no sourced value for that cell yet. Where a vendor publishes no number, the cell quotes what it does say.
- Each value links to its source; the list under each table shows the source's exact words.
More recorded details
| Plan | What | Value | Note | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Plus Cite this row: ChatGPT Plus | 5-hour window | 5-45 local messages (GPT-6 Astra)1Note on ChatGPT Plus, Value | Model: GPT-6 Astra. OpenAI: “These estimates are not fixed message limits”. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Plus Cite this row: ChatGPT Plus | 5-hour window | 350-3,000 local messages (GPT-6 Luna)2Note on ChatGPT Plus, Value | Model: GPT-6 Luna. OpenAI: “These estimates are not fixed message limits”. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Plus Cite this row: ChatGPT Plus | 5-hour window | 15-160 local messages (GPT-6.1 Sol)3Note on ChatGPT Plus, Value | Model: GPT-6.1 Sol. OpenAI: “These estimates are not fixed message limits”. OpenAI also says “GPT-6.1 Sol is rolling out for eligible paid plans.” | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source.
Audit trail 3 sources and 3 notes. All Official: OpenAI. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Claude Code vs Codex: other recorded values”
- OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
GPT-6 Astra | 5-45 | 5-45
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
GPT-6 Luna | 350-3,000 | 350-3,000
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
GPT-6.1 Sol | 15-160 | 15-160
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Claude Code vs Codex: other recorded values”
- ChatGPT Plus, Value: Model: GPT-6 Astra. OpenAI: “These estimates are not fixed message limits”. Back to the value
- ChatGPT Plus, Value: Model: GPT-6 Luna. OpenAI: “These estimates are not fixed message limits”. Back to the value
- ChatGPT Plus, Value: Model: GPT-6.1 Sol. OpenAI: “These estimates are not fixed message limits”. OpenAI also says “GPT-6.1 Sol is rolling out for eligible paid plans.” Back to the value
Every plan, in full
Changes to these plans
BeforePro was sold as a $100 tier and a $200 tier, described as 5x or 20x more Codex usage than Plus, with five-hour message estimates listed for both; new sign-ups and upgrades to the $200 plan had been paused since September 10, 2026.
AfterPro 100 ($100), Pro 200 ($200) and Pro 500 ($500) are on sale, and only Pro 500 includes Astra Ultrafast. New Pro 200 subscriptions that are not eligible for grandfathering get a lower allowance, and eligible existing ones move to it after October 29, 2026. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit; weekly limits may also apply.
BeforeWeekly Claude Code limits at the promotional level, 50% above the pre-promotion level (through September 13, 2026).
AfterWeekly Claude Code limits 25% above the pre-promotion level, permanently, for Pro, Max, Team and seat-based Enterprise.
Claude Plan or price added
Claude starts showing INR prices in India (reported)
BeforeClaude plans priced in US dollars for users in India.
AfterTechCrunch reported local rupee prices for Pro, Max and Team, taxes included. This site shows a rupee price only after a person has seen the amount at a real checkout (see the India page).
BeforeStandard weekly Claude Code limits (the pre-promotion level).
AfterWeekly Claude Code limits 50% above the pre-promotion level through September 13, 2026, for Pro, Max, Team and legacy seat-based Enterprise users.
Claude Increase
Claude Code five-hour limits doubled for paid plans
BeforeClaude Code five-hour limits at the previous level; a peak-hours limit reduction applied to Claude Code on Pro and Max.
AfterClaude Code five-hour limits doubled for Pro, Max, Team and seat-based Enterprise; no peak-hours reduction on Pro and Max.
Codex Plan or price added
OpenAI adds a $100 ChatGPT Pro tier with 5x Plus Codex usage
BeforeOne ChatGPT Pro plan, at $200 a month.
AfterTwo Pro tiers: Pro 5x at $100 a month (5x Plus Codex usage) and Pro 20x at $200 a month (20x Plus).
Claude Decrease
Claude adds weekly limits for Pro and Max
BeforePro and Max usage limits that reset every five hours; no weekly limit.
AfterFive-hour limits unchanged, plus an overall weekly limit and a weekly Claude Opus 4 limit, each resetting every seven days.
Cite this
LimitSheet, "Claude Code vs Codex: plans, prices and limits", verified Oct 2, 2026, https://limitsheet.com/compare/claude-code-vs-codex/, CC BY 4.0