Claude Pro vs Max: price and usage limits
Claude Pro and both Max plans side by side: price, usage compared with Pro, session and weekly limits and reset rules. Every value links to its source.
Last verified 17 days old, May be outdated. Flagged as outdated after 9 days. AI-assisted check Changes to these plans · How we verify
Before you buy
Prices and limits change often. Each figure shows the date it was last checked against its cited source. Confirm on the vendor's site before you buy. Nothing here is financial, legal or tax advice.
At a glance
Plans from cheapest to most expensive
Plans are ordered from cheapest to most expensive by the listed monthly price. The plans do not meter usage the same way. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.
Price and limits by plan
Price and limits, each with its source
| What | Claude Pro | Claude Max 5x | Claude Max 20x | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Billed monthly (USD) Cite this row: Billed monthly (USD) | $20 per month1excl. taxNote on Billed monthly (USD), Claude Pro | $100 per month2tax not statedNote on Billed monthly (USD), Claude Max 5x | $200 per month3tax not statedNote on Billed monthly (USD), Claude Max 20x | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Billed annually (USD per month) Cite this row: Billed annually (USD per month) | $17 per month, billed annually4excl. taxNote on Billed annually (USD per month), Claude Pro | Not tracked | Not tracked | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Usage vs base plan Cite this row: Usage vs base plan | 5x Free per 5-hour session (at least)5 | 5x Pro per session6 | 20x Pro per session7 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| 5-hour window Cite this row: 5-hour window | Session limit resets every five hours (no published message count)8 | Session limit resets every five hours (no published message count)9 | Session limit resets every five hours (no published message count)9 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Weekly cap Cite this row: Weekly cap | Weekly usage limit across all models (no published number)10 | Weekly usage limit across all models (no published number)11 | Weekly usage limit across all models (no published number)11 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Reset rule Cite this row: Reset rule | Weekly limit resets at a fixed day and time assigned to the account12 | Weekly limit resets at a fixed day and time assigned to the account13 | Weekly limit resets at a fixed day and time assigned to the account13 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Overage Cite this row: Overage | Usage credits at standard API rates (opt-in)14 | Usage credits at standard API rates (opt-in)14 | Usage credits at standard API rates (opt-in)14 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.
Audit trail 14 sources and 4 notes. All Official: Anthropic, Claude Help Center (Anthropic). Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Claude Pro vs Claude Max 5x vs Claude Max 20x: price and limits”
- Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
Per month with annual subscription discount ($200 billed up front). $20 if billed monthly.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max 5x: $100 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max 20x: $200 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
$17 Per month with annual subscription discount ($200 billed up front).
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
Pro gives you at least 5x more usage per 5-hour session than Free.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max 5x includes five times the Pro plan's per-session usage allowance.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max 20x includes 20 times the Pro plan's per-session usage allowance.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Pro plan?
Your session-based usage limit will reset every five hours.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Your session-based usage limit will reset every five hours.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Pro plan?
Pro plans also have a weekly usage limit that applies across all models.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max plans also have a weekly usage limit that applies across all models.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Pro plan?
Weekly limits reset at a fixed time each week that is assigned to your account. Your reset day and time stay the same regardless of when you start using Claude or when your subscription begins, and you receive your full weekly allowance each cycle.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
The weekly limit resets at a fixed time each week that is assigned to your account.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
When you reach a limit, you can wait for it to reset, move to a higher plan, or, on paid plans, turn on usage credits to keep working at standard API rates.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Claude Pro vs Claude Max 5x vs Claude Max 20x: price and limits”
- Billed monthly (USD), Claude Pro: Tax: the same page says “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” Back to the value
- Billed monthly (USD), Claude Max 5x: Web price. The article adds: “These prices are for web subscriptions only. Mobile pricing may vary depending on your app platform.” It does not state the tax treatment. Back to the value
- Billed monthly (USD), Claude Max 20x: Web price. The article adds: “These prices are for web subscriptions only. Mobile pricing may vary depending on your app platform.” It does not state the tax treatment. Back to the value
- Billed annually (USD per month), Claude Pro: Tax: the same page says “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” Back to the value
How usage is metered
- Claude: 5-hour session window + weekly limit (multipliers vs Pro). Claude usage limits by plan
Reading these tables
- USD prices are the listed prices. Where the source states the tax treatment, it is shown under the price; otherwise the cell says “tax not stated”.
- “Not tracked” means we hold no sourced value for that cell yet. Where a vendor publishes no number, the cell quotes what it does say.
- Each value links to its source; the list under each table shows the source's exact words.
More recorded details
| Plan | What | Value | Note | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Pro Cite this row: Claude Pro | Other | $2001excl. taxNote on Claude Pro, Value | Annual Pro subscription total, billed once up front. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Claude Pro Cite this row: Claude Pro | Other | Claude Code included; shares the plan's usage limits2 | None | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Claude Pro Cite this row: Claude Pro | Other | claude.ai, Claude Code and Claude Desktop count toward one usage limit3Note on Claude Pro, Value | Applies to every Claude plan with usage limits, not only Pro. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Claude Max 5x Cite this row: Claude Max 5x | Other | Monthly billing only4 | None | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Claude Max 20x Cite this row: Claude Max 20x | Other | Monthly billing only4 | None | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source.
Audit trail 4 sources and 2 notes. All Official: Anthropic, Claude Help Center (Anthropic). Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Claude Pro vs Max: other recorded values”
- Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
$17 Per month with annual subscription discount ($200 billed up front).
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
Claude Code is included in all paid plans. It shares the same usage limits as the rest of your plan, so your work in the terminal and your chats draw from one pool.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), How do usage and length limits work?
Note that your usage of all different Claude product surfaces (claude.ai, Claude Code, Claude Desktop) counts towards the same usage limit.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
The Max plan is currently available as a monthly subscription only.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Claude Pro vs Max: other recorded values”
- Claude Pro, Value: Annual Pro subscription total, billed once up front. Back to the value
Every plan, in full
Changes to these plans
BeforeWeekly Claude Code limits at the promotional level, 50% above the pre-promotion level (through September 13, 2026).
AfterWeekly Claude Code limits 25% above the pre-promotion level, permanently, for Pro, Max, Team and seat-based Enterprise.
Claude Plan or price added
Claude starts showing INR prices in India (reported)
BeforeClaude plans priced in US dollars for users in India.
AfterTechCrunch reported local rupee prices for Pro, Max and Team, taxes included. This site shows a rupee price only after a person has seen the amount at a real checkout (see the India page).
BeforeStandard weekly Claude Code limits (the pre-promotion level).
AfterWeekly Claude Code limits 50% above the pre-promotion level through September 13, 2026, for Pro, Max, Team and legacy seat-based Enterprise users.
Claude Increase
Claude Code five-hour limits doubled for paid plans
BeforeClaude Code five-hour limits at the previous level; a peak-hours limit reduction applied to Claude Code on Pro and Max.
AfterClaude Code five-hour limits doubled for Pro, Max, Team and seat-based Enterprise; no peak-hours reduction on Pro and Max.
Claude Decrease
Claude adds weekly limits for Pro and Max
BeforePro and Max usage limits that reset every five hours; no weekly limit.
AfterFive-hour limits unchanged, plus an overall weekly limit and a weekly Claude Opus 4 limit, each resetting every seven days.
Cite this
LimitSheet, "Claude Pro vs Max: price and usage limits", verified Oct 2, 2026, https://limitsheet.com/compare/claude-pro-vs-max/, CC BY 4.0