Codex plans, prices and limits
OpenAI's coding agent, included in the ChatGPT plans. Local messages and cloud chats share the plan's usage allowance, and OpenAI publishes per-model message estimates rather than fixed limits.
Last verified 17 days old, May be outdated. Flagged as outdated after 9 days. AI-assisted check History · How we verify
Cheapest route
- Free plan
- ChatGPT Free$0 per monthtax not statedSource
- Lowest paid price, billed monthly
- ChatGPT Go$8 per monthtax not statedSource
Plans at a glance
Every Codex plan, its listed monthly price and plan type
| Plan | Price, USD | Terms | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Billed monthly (USD) | Plan type | Verified | |
| ChatGPT Free Cite this row: ChatGPT Free Limits of ChatGPT Free | $0 per month1tax not stated | Free | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Go Cite this row: ChatGPT Go Limits of ChatGPT Go | $8 per month2tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Plus Cite this row: ChatGPT Plus Limits of ChatGPT Plus | $20 per month3tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Pro 100 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 100 Limits of ChatGPT Pro 100 | $100 per month4tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Pro 200 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 200 Limits of ChatGPT Pro 200 | $200 per month5tax not statedNote on ChatGPT Pro 200, Billed monthly (USD) | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Pro 500 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 500 Limits of ChatGPT Pro 500 | $500 per month6tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Business Cite this row: ChatGPT Business Limits of ChatGPT Business | $25 per seat per month7tax not stated | Team | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Enterprise & Edu Cite this row: ChatGPT Enterprise & Edu Limits of ChatGPT Enterprise & Edu | Contact sales (no public price)8 | Enterprise | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo.
Audit trail 8 sources and 1 note. All Official: OpenAI, OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI). Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Codex plans at a glance: price billed monthly and plan type”
- OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Free Explore Codex capabilities on quick coding tasks. $0/month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Go Use Codex for lightweight coding tasks. $8/month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Plus Power a few focused coding sessions each week. $20/month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Pro 100 | $100 | Not included
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Pro 200 | $200 | Not included
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Pro 500 | $500 | Included
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
*2+ users, billed annually. $25 per user per month when billed monthly.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Enterprise & Edu Unlock Codex for your entire organization with enterprise-grade functionality. Contact sales
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Codex plans at a glance: price billed monthly and plan type”
- ChatGPT Pro 200, Billed monthly (USD): OpenAI: “New subscriptions that aren’t eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance than previously offered with Pro 200 to reflect our increasingly efficient models. The monthly price remains $200.” Back to the value
How usage is metered
- Codex
- 5-hour message estimates per model on Plus and Business (none on Pro) + possible weekly limits; credits beyond the allowance
The limits page lists each plan's recorded allowances with sources.
Summary sources 1 source. All Official: OpenAI. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for the summary at the top
- OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Local messages and cloud chats share your plan’s usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.
These estimates are not fixed message limits
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.
Official pages
Links to the vendor's own pages, for checking. LimitSheet is independent of every company it covers; see the disclosure.
Other recorded facts
| Plan | Value | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Pro 500 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 500 | Includes GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast (not available on Pro 100 or Pro 200)1 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Enterprise & Edu Cite this row: ChatGPT Enterprise & Edu | Contact sales (no public price)2 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Enterprise & Edu Cite this row: ChatGPT Enterprise & Edu | Without flexible pricing, the same per-seat usage limits as Plus for most features3 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Enterprise & Edu Cite this row: ChatGPT Enterprise & Edu | With flexible pricing, no fixed rate limits; usage scales with credits4 | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source.
Audit trail 4 sources. All Official: OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), OpenAI. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Codex: other recorded facts”
- OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Among Pro plans, Ultrafast is available only on Pro 500.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Enterprise & Edu Unlock Codex for your entire organization with enterprise-grade functionality. Contact sales
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Enterprise and Edu plans without flexible pricing have the same per-seat usage limits as Plus for most features.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Enterprise/Edu users with flexible pricing have no fixed rate limits. Usage scales with credits.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Codex history
BeforePro was sold as a $100 tier and a $200 tier, described as 5x or 20x more Codex usage than Plus, with five-hour message estimates listed for both; new sign-ups and upgrades to the $200 plan had been paused since September 10, 2026.
AfterPro 100 ($100), Pro 200 ($200) and Pro 500 ($500) are on sale, and only Pro 500 includes Astra Ultrafast. New Pro 200 subscriptions that are not eligible for grandfathering get a lower allowance, and eligible existing ones move to it after October 29, 2026. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit; weekly limits may also apply.
Plan or price added
OpenAI adds a $100 ChatGPT Pro tier with 5x Plus Codex usage
BeforeOne ChatGPT Pro plan, at $200 a month.
AfterTwo Pro tiers: Pro 5x at $100 a month (5x Plus Codex usage) and Pro 20x at $200 a month (20x Plus).
Comparisons
Related tools
Cite this
LimitSheet, "Codex plans, prices and limits", verified Oct 2, 2026, https://limitsheet.com/tools/codex/, CC BY 4.0