GitHub Copilot adds flex allotments to Pro and Pro+ and a new Max plan
Announced May 12, 2026 and effective June 1, 2026: Pro and Pro+ include more total usage at the same price through a variable flex allotment on top of base credits, and a new Max plan was added at $100 a month.
Last verified 17 days old, May be outdated. Flagged as outdated after 9 days. AI-assisted check · How we verify
What changed
GitHub Copilot Increase
Before
As first announced in GitHub's usage-based billing post: Pro $10 a month including $10 in monthly AI Credits; Pro+ $39 including $39; no Max plan.
After
Pro $10 with $15 of included usage ($10 base + $5 flex); Pro+ $39 with $70 ($39 + $31); new Max $100 with $200 ($100 + $100). In credits: 1,500, 7,000 and 20,000 a month.
- Announced
- Took effect
- Recorded by LimitSheet
- Entry published
- Affects
- GitHub Copilot
- Verified
- , verified 20 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check
Baseline
The included AI Credits in GitHub's first usage-based billing announcement, which equaled the plan price. Base credits stay matched 1:1 with the price. GitHub says “Flex allotments will vary over time”, so later flex changes will be logged as their own entries.
A change can be a cut against one level and a rise against another, so every entry names the baseline it compares with.
Sources and their exact words
Every number and date in this entry comes from one of these quotes.
Audit trail 3 sources. Reported, Official: The GitHub Blog, GitHub Docs. Accessed to . Archived copies linked.
Sources
- The GitHub Blog, GitHub Copilot individual plans: Introducing flex allotments in Pro and Pro+, and a new Max plan
Base credits: matched 1:1 with your subscription price. These never change.
Flex allotment: variable additional usage on top of your base. Flex allotments will vary over time.
Pro | $10/month | $10 | $5 | $15
Pro+ | $39/month | $39 | $31 | $70
Max | $100/month | $100 | $100 | $200
Accessed Archived copy Reported: Reported by the vendor elsewhere (blog, staff post) or by reputable press. - The GitHub Blog, GitHub Copilot is moving to usage-based billing
Copilot Pro: $10/month, including $10 in monthly AI Credits
Copilot Pro+: $39/month, including $39 in monthly AI Credits
Accessed Archived copy Reported: Reported by the vendor elsewhere (blog, staff post) or by reputable press. - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Pro | $10 USD | 1,000 | 500 | 1,500
Copilot Pro+ | $39 USD | 3,900 | 3,100 | 7,000
Copilot Max | $100 USD | 10,000 | 10,000 | 20,000
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.
Pages this change affects
Where things stand now
The current recorded prices and limits for the affected tool, each with its own source. They may have changed again since this entry.
| Plan | Price, USD | Terms | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Billed monthly (USD) | Plan type | Verified | |
| Copilot Pro Cite this row: Copilot Pro | $10 per month1tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro+ Cite this row: Copilot Pro+ | $39 per month2tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Max Cite this row: Copilot Max | $100 per month3tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.
Audit trail 3 sources. All Official: GitHub. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “GitHub Copilot: current prices”
- GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Pro $10 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Pro+ $39 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Max $100 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
| Plan | Monthly credits | Reset rule | Overage | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copilot Pro Cite this row: Copilot Pro | 1,500 AI credits per month1Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.Note on Copilot Pro, Monthly credits | Allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month; unused credits do not carry over2Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | Paid usage at $0.01 per AI credit, within a budget you set3Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro+ Cite this row: Copilot Pro+ | 7,000 AI credits per month4Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.Note on Copilot Pro+, Monthly credits | Allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month; unused credits do not carry over2Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | Paid usage at $0.01 per AI credit, within a budget you set3Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Max Cite this row: Copilot Max | 20,000 AI credits per month5Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.Note on Copilot Max, Monthly credits | Allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month; unused credits do not carry over2Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | Paid usage at $0.01 per AI credit, within a budget you set3Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Audit trail 5 sources and 3 notes. All Official: GitHub Docs, GitHub. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “GitHub Copilot: current recorded limits”
- GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Pro | $10 USD | 1,000 | 500 | 1,500
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Usage-based billing for individuals
Included AI credits do not carry over between months. Unused credits are forfeited, and your allowance resets to the full monthly amount at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Keep working with paid usage. Set a dollar budget for additional usage and Copilot continues without interruption. Credits draw down at $0.01 each, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 credits.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Pro+ | $39 USD | 3,900 | 3,100 | 7,000
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Max | $100 USD | 10,000 | 10,000 | 20,000
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “GitHub Copilot: current recorded limits”
- Copilot Pro, Monthly credits: Total monthly AI credits (base + flex). Back to the value
- Copilot Pro+, Monthly credits: Total monthly AI credits (base + flex). Back to the value
- Copilot Max, Monthly credits: Total monthly AI credits (base + flex). Back to the value
This entry as data
Download this entry as JSON All data (CC BY 4.0)
curl -s https://limitsheet.com/data/v1/changes/2026-06-01-github-copilot-flex-allotments-max.jsonCite this
LimitSheet, "GitHub Copilot adds flex allotments to Pro and Pro+ and a new Max plan", verified Oct 2, 2026, https://limitsheet.com/changes/2026-06-01-github-copilot-flex-allotments-max/, CC BY 4.0