GitHub Copilot plans, prices and limits
GitHub's AI coding assistant. Chat, agents, code review and the Copilot CLI draw on a monthly allowance of GitHub AI Credits; code completions do not use credits on paid plans.
Last verified 17 days old, May be outdated. Flagged as outdated after 9 days. AI-assisted check History · How we verify
Cheapest route
- Free plan
- Copilot Free$0 per monthtax not statedSource
- Lowest paid price, billed monthly
- Copilot Pro$10 per monthtax not statedSource
Plans at a glance
Every GitHub Copilot plan, its listed monthly price and plan type
| Plan | Price, USD | Terms | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Billed monthly (USD) | Plan type | Verified | |
| Copilot Free Cite this row: Copilot Free Limits of Copilot Free | $0 per month1tax not stated | Free | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro Cite this row: Copilot Pro Limits of Copilot Pro | $10 per month2tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro+ Cite this row: Copilot Pro+ Limits of Copilot Pro+ | $39 per month3tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Max Cite this row: Copilot Max Limits of Copilot Max | $100 per month4tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Business Cite this row: Copilot Business Limits of Copilot Business | $19 per seat per month5tax not stated | Team | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Enterprise Cite this row: Copilot Enterprise Limits of Copilot Enterprise | $39 per seat per month6tax not statedNote on Copilot Enterprise, Billed monthly (USD) | Enterprise | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.
Audit trail 6 sources and 1 note. All Official: GitHub, GitHub Docs. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “GitHub Copilot plans at a glance: price billed monthly and plan type”
- GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Pricing plans Free $0
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Pro $10 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Pro+ $39 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Max $100 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Business | $19 USD | 1,900
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Enterprise | $39 USD | 3,900
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “GitHub Copilot plans at a glance: price billed monthly and plan type”
- Copilot Enterprise, Billed monthly (USD): Requires GitHub Enterprise Cloud. Back to the value
How usage is metered
- GitHub Copilot
- monthly GitHub AI Credits (base credits + flex allotment)
The limits page lists each plan's recorded allowances with sources.
Summary sources 1 source. All Official: GitHub. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for the summary at the top
- GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Chat, agent mode, code review, Copilot cloud agent, Copilot CLI, and Copilot Apps consume GitHub AI Credits.
Code completions and next edit suggestions don't use credits. They remain unlimited with every paid plan.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center.
- Copilot Pro1,5001
- Copilot BusinessAI credits per user per month (pooled)1,9002
- Copilot EnterpriseAI credits per user per month (pooled)3,9003
- Copilot Pro+7,0004
- Copilot Max20,0005
Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = 20,000 AI credits per month. Plans with no published number are not drawn. Ink bars compare what each plan includes; they are not usage.
Audit trail 5 sources. All Official: GitHub Docs. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Monthly credits · one rail, absolute values”
- GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Pro | $10 USD | 1,000 | 500 | 1,500
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Business | $19 USD | 1,900
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Enterprise | $39 USD | 3,900
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Pro+ | $39 USD | 3,900 | 3,100 | 7,000
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Max | $100 USD | 10,000 | 10,000 | 20,000
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Official pages
Links to the vendor's own pages, for checking. LimitSheet is independent of every company it covers; see the disclosure.
Other recorded facts
| Plan | Value | Note | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Copilot Free Cite this row: Copilot Free | 2,000 inline suggestions per month1Note on Copilot Free, Value | GitHub Docs says the same: “Limited to 2000 completions per month on Copilot Free.” | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Free Cite this row: Copilot Free | 50 chat requests (FAQ wording)2Note on Copilot Free, Value | Conflict on the vendor page: the plan table on the same page says “Limited chat and agent usage” under AI Credits, while this FAQ still counts chat requests. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro Cite this row: Copilot Pro | 1,000 AI credits per month (base)3Note on Copilot Pro, Value | Base credits. GitHub: base credits are “matched 1:1 with your subscription price”. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro Cite this row: Copilot Pro | 500 AI credits per month (flex allotment)3Note on Copilot Pro, Value | Flex allotment. The GitHub Blog post introducing flex allotments says: “Flex allotments will vary over time.” | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro Cite this row: Copilot Pro | Code completions and next edit suggestions unlimited; they do not use credits4 | None | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro+ Cite this row: Copilot Pro+ | 3,900 AI credits per month (base)5Note on Copilot Pro+, Value | Base credits. GitHub: base credits are “matched 1:1 with your subscription price”. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro+ Cite this row: Copilot Pro+ | 3,100 AI credits per month (flex allotment)5Note on Copilot Pro+, Value | Flex allotment. The GitHub Blog post introducing flex allotments says: “Flex allotments will vary over time.” | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Pro+ Cite this row: Copilot Pro+ | Code completions and next edit suggestions unlimited; they do not use credits4 | None | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Max Cite this row: Copilot Max | 10,000 AI credits per month (base)6Note on Copilot Max, Value | Base credits. GitHub: base credits are “matched 1:1 with your subscription price”. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Max Cite this row: Copilot Max | 10,000 AI credits per month (flex allotment)6Note on Copilot Max, Value | Flex allotment. The GitHub Blog post introducing flex allotments says: “Flex allotments will vary over time.” | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Copilot Max Cite this row: Copilot Max | Code completions and next edit suggestions unlimited; they do not use credits4 | None | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source.
Audit trail 6 sources and 8 notes. All Official: GitHub, GitHub Docs. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “GitHub Copilot: other recorded facts”
- GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Inline suggestions Free plan 2,000 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
GitHub Copilot Free users are limited to 2000 completions and 50 chat requests (including Copilot Edits).
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Pro | $10 USD | 1,000 | 500 | 1,500
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub, GitHub Copilot · Plans & pricing
Code completions and next edit suggestions don't use credits. They remain unlimited with every paid plan.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Pro+ | $39 USD | 3,900 | 3,100 | 7,000
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - GitHub Docs, Plans for GitHub Copilot
Copilot Max | $100 USD | 10,000 | 10,000 | 20,000
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “GitHub Copilot: other recorded facts”
- Copilot Free, Value: GitHub Docs says the same: “Limited to 2000 completions per month on Copilot Free.” Back to the value
- Copilot Free, Value: Conflict on the vendor page: the plan table on the same page says “Limited chat and agent usage” under AI Credits, while this FAQ still counts chat requests. Back to the value
- Copilot Pro, Value: Base credits. GitHub: base credits are “matched 1:1 with your subscription price”. Back to the value
- Copilot Pro, Value: Flex allotment. The GitHub Blog post introducing flex allotments says: “Flex allotments will vary over time.” Back to the value
- Copilot Pro+, Value: Base credits. GitHub: base credits are “matched 1:1 with your subscription price”. Back to the value
- Copilot Pro+, Value: Flex allotment. The GitHub Blog post introducing flex allotments says: “Flex allotments will vary over time.” Back to the value
- Copilot Max, Value: Base credits. GitHub: base credits are “matched 1:1 with your subscription price”. Back to the value
- Copilot Max, Value: Flex allotment. The GitHub Blog post introducing flex allotments says: “Flex allotments will vary over time.” Back to the value
GitHub Copilot history
No net change Minor
Copilot Business and Enterprise seats are charged upfront for credit card and PayPal customers
BeforeSeats were billed each month for the number assigned, with billed users counted at the end of each billing cycle. Credit card and PayPal payers paid upfront only for seats added during a cycle, prorated for the rest of that cycle.
AfterFor credit card and PayPal payers, all assigned seats are charged upfront at the start of each billing cycle, and each new seat is paid for before its user gets access. Seats added mid-cycle are still prorated, and included usage may be prorated to match. Prices unchanged: Business $19 and Enterprise $39 per user per month.
BeforePremium requests (PRUs): each plan included a monthly premium request allowance, with model multipliers.
AfterGitHub AI Credits ($0.01 each), based on input, output and cached tokens at listed API rates. Prices unchanged: Pro $10 a month, Pro+ $39, Business $19 per user, Enterprise $39 per user. Code completions and next edit suggestions do not use credits.
BeforeAs first announced in GitHub's usage-based billing post: Pro $10 a month including $10 in monthly AI Credits; Pro+ $39 including $39; no Max plan.
AfterPro $10 with $15 of included usage ($10 base + $5 flex); Pro+ $39 with $70 ($39 + $31); new Max $100 with $200 ($100 + $100). In credits: 1,500, 7,000 and 20,000 a month.
Related tools
Cite this
LimitSheet, "GitHub Copilot plans, prices and limits", verified Oct 2, 2026, https://limitsheet.com/tools/github-copilot/, CC BY 4.0