Claude starts showing INR prices in India (reported)
TechCrunch reported that local rupee pricing had begun to appear for some users in India on Claude's website and mobile apps, with local taxes included. Payment was by card or app store billing; UPI was not enabled at the time of the report.
Last verified 17 days old, May be outdated. Flagged as outdated after 9 days. AI-assisted check · How we verify
What changed
Claude Plan or price added
Before
Claude plans priced in US dollars for users in India.
After
TechCrunch reported local rupee prices for Pro, Max and Team, taxes included. This site shows a rupee price only after a person has seen the amount at a real checkout (see the India page).
- First reported
- Recorded by LimitSheet
- Entry published
- Affects
- Claude
- Verified
- , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check
Baseline
Dollar pricing for users in India, as the same report describes it. LimitSheet never converts US dollars to rupees. The date is the report date, not a confirmed rollout date.
A change can be a cut against one level and a rise against another, so every entry names the baseline it compares with.
Sources and their exact words
Every number and date in this entry comes from one of these quotes.
Audit trail 1 source. All Reported: TechCrunch (Jagmeet Singh). Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources
- TechCrunch (Jagmeet Singh), Anthropic starts localizing Claude pricing for India, its biggest market after the US
Local pricing has begun to appear for some users in India on Claude’s website and mobile apps. However, Anthropic has yet to enable payments via the Unified Payments Interface (UPI), India’s widely used instant payments network. Users still need to pay by card or through Apple’s and Google’s app store billing systems.
Claude users in India have long sought rupee-denominated subscriptions, with dollar pricing and currency conversion adding friction to accessing the service.
The India prices include local taxes.
Accessed Archived copy Reported: Reported by the vendor elsewhere (blog, staff post) or by reputable press.
Pages this change affects
Where things stand now
The current recorded prices for the affected tool, each with its own source. They may have changed again since this entry.
| Plan | Price, USD | Price, ₹ (checkout-verified) | Terms | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Billed monthly (USD) | Billed annually (USD per month) | Billed monthly (₹, checkout-verified) | Billed annually (₹ per month, checkout-verified) | Minimum seats | Plan type | Verified | |
| Pro Cite this row: Pro | $20 per month1excl. taxNote on Pro, Billed monthly (USD) | $17 per month, billed annually2excl. taxNote on Pro, Billed annually (USD per month) | Not tracked | ₹2,000 per month, billed annually3incl. taxReported: Reported by the vendor elsewhere (blog, staff post) or by reputable press.Note on Pro, Billed annually (₹ per month, checkout-verified) | Not tracked | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Max 5x Cite this row: Max 5x | $100 per month4tax not statedNote on Max 5x, Billed monthly (USD) | Not tracked | ₹11,999 per month5incl. taxReported: Reported by the vendor elsewhere (blog, staff post) or by reputable press.Note on Max 5x, Billed monthly (₹, checkout-verified) | Not tracked | Not tracked | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| Team (Standard seat) Cite this row: Team (Standard seat) | $25 per seat per month6excl. taxNote on Team (Standard seat), Billed monthly (USD) | $20 per seat per month, billed annually6excl. taxNote on Team (Standard seat), Billed annually (USD per month) | Not tracked | Not tracked | 2 seats7Note on Team (Standard seat), Minimum seats | Team | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo, the highest monthly USD price on LimitSheet.
Audit trail 7 sources and 8 notes. Official, Reported: Anthropic, TechCrunch (Jagmeet Singh), Claude Help Center (Anthropic). Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Claude: current prices”
- Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
Per month with annual subscription discount ($200 billed up front). $20 if billed monthly.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
$17 Per month with annual subscription discount ($200 billed up front).
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - TechCrunch (Jagmeet Singh), Anthropic starts localizing Claude pricing for India, its biggest market after the US
On Claude’s website in India, Anthropic is listing Claude Pro at ₹2,000 (about $21) a month when billed annually, compared with $17 a month in the U.S.
Accessed Archived copy Reported: Reported by the vendor elsewhere (blog, staff post) or by reputable press. Back to the value - Claude Help Center (Anthropic), What is the Max plan?
Max 5x: $100 per month
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - TechCrunch (Jagmeet Singh), Anthropic starts localizing Claude pricing for India, its biggest market after the US
Claude Max starts at ₹11,999 (around $125) a month in India, versus $100 in the U.S.
Accessed Archived copy Reported: Reported by the vendor elsewhere (blog, staff post) or by reputable press. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
Standard seat All Claude features, plus more usage than Pro* $20 Per seat / month if billed annually. $25 if billed monthly.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - Anthropic, Plans & Pricing | Claude by Anthropic
Team For teams of 2 to 150
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Claude: current prices”
- Pro, Billed monthly (USD): Tax: the same page says “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” Back to the value
- Pro, Billed annually (USD per month): Tax: the same page says “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” Back to the value
- Pro, Billed annually (₹ per month, checkout-verified): Seen at a real checkout in India on Oct 2, 2026: Pro with annual billing, charged once a year, GST included. Claude’s plans page shows it as ₹2,000 a month. TechCrunch reported the same price on Jul 13, 2026. Back to the value
- Max 5x, Billed monthly (USD): Web price. The article adds: “These prices are for web subscriptions only. Mobile pricing may vary depending on your app platform.” It does not state the tax treatment. Back to the value
- Max 5x, Billed monthly (₹, checkout-verified): Seen at a real checkout in India on Oct 2, 2026: Max 5x at ₹11,999 a month, GST included. The plans page showed Max from ₹11,999 a month. TechCrunch reported the same price on Jul 13, 2026. Back to the value
- Team (Standard seat), Billed monthly (USD): Tax: the same page says “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” Back to the value
- Team (Standard seat), Billed annually (USD per month): Tax: the same page says “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” Back to the value
- Team (Standard seat), Minimum seats: The Team plan article says: “Team plans require a minimum of two members.” Back to the value
This entry as data
Download this entry as JSON All data (CC BY 4.0)
curl -s https://limitsheet.com/data/v1/changes/2026-07-13-claude-india-inr-pricing.jsonCite this
LimitSheet, "Claude starts showing INR prices in India (reported)", verified Oct 2, 2026, https://limitsheet.com/changes/2026-07-13-claude-india-inr-pricing/, CC BY 4.0