ChatGPT Pro: a new $500 plan, Pro 200 reopens with a lower allowance, no five-hour limit for Pro currently
On September 29, 2026 OpenAI introduced Pro 500, a $500/month ChatGPT Pro plan with the highest included usage of the Pro plans and access to Astra Ultrafast, and made Pro 200 available for new subscriptions again at $200/month. New Pro 200 subscriptions that are not eligible for grandfathering get a lower usage allowance than before; eligible subscribers keep the previous allowance through October 29, 2026. OpenAI now names the Pro plans Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, and its Codex pricing page says Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.
Last verified 17 days old, May be outdated. Flagged as outdated after 9 days. AI-assisted check · How we verify
What changed
Codex Mixed
Before
Pro was sold as a $100 tier and a $200 tier, described as 5x or 20x more Codex usage than Plus, with five-hour message estimates listed for both; new sign-ups and upgrades to the $200 plan had been paused since September 10, 2026.
After
Pro 100 ($100), Pro 200 ($200) and Pro 500 ($500) are on sale, and only Pro 500 includes Astra Ultrafast. New Pro 200 subscriptions that are not eligible for grandfathering get a lower allowance, and eligible existing ones move to it after October 29, 2026. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit; weekly limits may also apply.
- Announced
- Took effect
- Recorded by LimitSheet
- Entry published
- Affects
- Codex
- Verified
- , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check
Baseline
Compared with the Pro tiers of September 29, 2026: the $100 tier introduced as the 5X tier and the $200 plan that OpenAI called Pro 20X. The $100 and $200 prices did not change. OpenAI no longer states multiples of Plus, gives no size for the lower Pro 200 allowance and lists no Pro five-hour estimates, so the change in usage is not quantified here. The page does not say when the five-hour limit disappeared: the copy saved on September 29, 2026 still listed five-hour estimates for Pro, and the copy of October 2, 2026 says Pro plans have no five-hour limit.
A change can be a cut against one level and a rise against another, so every entry names the baseline it compares with.
Sources and their exact words
Every number and date in this entry comes from one of these quotes.
Audit trail 6 sources. Official, Reported: OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), OpenAI, VentureBeat. Accessed to . Archived copies linked.
Sources
- OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), ChatGPT — Release Notes
We’re introducing Pro 500, a new $500/month plan with the highest included usage of the Pro plans and access to Astra Ultrafast in ChatGPT Work and Codex.
Pro 200 is available for new subscriptions again at $200/month. Included usage allowances are changing.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. - OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
New subscriptions that aren’t eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance than previously offered with Pro 200 to reflect our increasingly efficient models. The monthly price remains $200.
If your Pro 200 subscription was active at the eligibility cutoff or during the seven days before it, you’re eligible to keep your previous included usage allowance through Oct 29, 2026 while you have an active Pro 200 subscription.
After that date, your subscription will move to the lower included usage allowance. Your subscription price stays at $200/month.
Among Pro plans, Ultrafast is available only on Pro 500.
Pro 100 | $100 | Not included
Pro 200 | $200 | Not included
Pro 500 | $500 | Included
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month
Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.
Local messages and cloud chats share your plan’s usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn (copy of 29 Sep 2026, before the Pro plans were restructured)
5x or 20x more Codex usage than Plus*
GPT-6 Sol | 15-150 | 70-700 | 300-3,000 | 15-150 | Usage-based
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. - OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers (copy of 19 Sep 2026, while Pro 200 sign-ups were paused)
Note: As of September 10, 2026, we’re temporarily pausing new sign-ups and upgrades to the ChatGPT Pro $200 plan (Pro 20X).
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. - VentureBeat, OpenAI introduces ChatGPT Pro $100 tier with 5X usage limits for Codex compared to Plus
OpenAI introduces ChatGPT Pro $100 tier with 5X usage limits for Codex compared to Plus
Accessed Archived copy Reported: Reported by the vendor elsewhere (blog, staff post) or by reputable press.
Pages this change affects
Where things stand now
The current recorded prices and limits for the affected tool, each with its own source. They may have changed again since this entry.
| Plan | Price, USD | Terms | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Billed monthly (USD) | Plan type | Verified | |
| ChatGPT Pro 100 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 100 | $100 per month1tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Pro 200 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 200 | $200 per month2tax not statedNote on ChatGPT Pro 200, Billed monthly (USD) | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Pro 500 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 500 | $500 per month3tax not stated | Individual | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Values are Official (stated by the vendor) unless labeled otherwise. Numbers in boxes link to the source. Bars are drawn to scale, full rail = $500/mo.
Audit trail 3 sources and 1 note. All Official: OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI). Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Codex: current prices”
- OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Pro 100 | $100 | Not included
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Pro 200 | $200 | Not included
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI Help Center (OpenAI), About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Pro 500 | $500 | Included
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Codex: current prices”
- ChatGPT Pro 200, Billed monthly (USD): OpenAI: “New subscriptions that aren’t eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance than previously offered with Pro 200 to reflect our increasingly efficient models. The monthly price remains $200.” Back to the value
| Plan | 5-hour window | Weekly cap | Overage | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Pro 100 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 100 | No five-hour limit currently1Note on ChatGPT Pro 100, 5-hour windowOfficial: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | Weekly limits may also apply (no published number)2Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | Additional ChatGPT credits can be purchased3Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Pro 200 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 200 | No five-hour limit currently1Note on ChatGPT Pro 200, 5-hour windowOfficial: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | Weekly limits may also apply (no published number)2Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | Additional ChatGPT credits can be purchased3Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
| ChatGPT Pro 500 Cite this row: ChatGPT Pro 500 | No five-hour limit currently1Note on ChatGPT Pro 500, 5-hour windowOfficial: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | Weekly limits may also apply (no published number)2Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | Additional ChatGPT credits can be purchased3Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. | , verified 17 days agoMay be outdatedAI-assisted check |
Audit trail 3 sources and 3 notes. All Official: OpenAI. Accessed . Archived copies linked.
Sources for “Codex: current recorded limits”
- OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
Local messages and cloud chats share your plan’s usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value - OpenAI, Pricing | ChatGPT Learn
ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.
Accessed Archived copy Official: Stated by the vendor on its own pricing page, docs or help center. Back to the value
Notes on “Codex: current recorded limits”
- ChatGPT Pro 100, 5-hour window: OpenAI: “Weekly limits may also apply.” Back to the value
- ChatGPT Pro 200, 5-hour window: OpenAI: “Weekly limits may also apply.” Back to the value
- ChatGPT Pro 500, 5-hour window: OpenAI: “Weekly limits may also apply.” Back to the value
This entry as data
Download this entry as JSON All data (CC BY 4.0)
curl -s https://limitsheet.com/data/v1/changes/2026-09-29-chatgpt-pro-500-and-pro-200-reopened.jsonCite this
LimitSheet, "ChatGPT Pro: a new $500 plan, Pro 200 reopens with a lower allowance, no five-hour limit for Pro currently", verified Oct 2, 2026, https://limitsheet.com/changes/2026-09-29-chatgpt-pro-500-and-pro-200-reopened/, CC BY 4.0